Regulator Details

Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, Rm 801
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 587-3222
Fax: (808) 586-2640

Hawaii Payday Loan Laws

Payday Hound's Top Hawaii Lenders

Check Into Cash

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Direct lender online or at stores.
  • Founding member of CFSA. Live chat.
  • TN based. State Licensed. Since 1993.

Cash Central

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Discounts for repeat customers. Live chat.
  • B BBB rating. Bad credit okay but does check credit.
  • State Licensed. Based in UT. Since 2005.

Hawaii Payday Loan Laws Details

The data provided here is for general informational purposes and should not be used as legal reference. If you have questions regarding Hawaii payday loan laws contact the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

Payday loans are legal (applies to check cashers only) in Hawaii (see Hawaii Payday Loans or Hawaii Installment Loans to compare fees and requirements for individual lenders).

Feature Specification
Amount (max) $600
Rates or Fees (max) 15% of check
Term Limitations Max: 32 days
General Loan Terms

In Hawaii, no rollovers are permitted (cannot refinance or consolidate). Nothing is mentioned about cooling periods between loans. Hawaii has no requirements for extended repayment plans.

For example, in Hawaii the rates and fees on a 14 day, $100 loan are:

Terms Amount
Loan Amount $100
Fees $17.65
APR 459%
Sample Loan Terms

Hawaii also defines regulations around collections. If available, the table below lists the fees lenders are permitted to charge if the loan is not repaid and/or whether a lender can threaten use of or use criminal action if a borrower is unable to repay a loan.

Feature Specification
Collection Fees $20 NSF fee; Check Casher that accepts check passed on insufficient funds not entitled to recover damages
Criminal Action Prohibited (Unless check returned due to closed account or stop-payment by maker)
Regulations on Collections
Finally, a more detailed excerpt from Hawaii's statutes on finance charges is listed below. In general the tables above summarize this.

A check casher may charge a fee for deferred deposit of a personal check in an amount not to exceed 15 percent of the face amount of the check.

Citation: Hawaii Rev. Stat. Ann. 480F-1 et seq.