Regulator Details

Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner

700 SW Jackson, Suite 300
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 296-2266
Fax: (785) 296-0168

Kansas Payday Loan Laws

Payday Hound's Top Kansas Lenders

Check Into Cash

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Direct lender online or at stores.
  • Founding member of CFSA. Live chat.
  • TN based. State Licensed. Since 1993.

Cash Central

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Discounts for repeat customers. Live chat.
  • B BBB rating. Bad credit okay but does check credit.
  • State Licensed. Based in UT. Since 2005.

Kansas Payday Loan Laws Details

The data provided here is for general informational purposes and should not be used as legal reference. If you have questions regarding Kansas payday loan laws contact the Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner.

Payday loans are legal in Kansas (see Kansas Payday Loans or Kansas Installment Loans to compare fees and requirements for individual lenders).

Feature Specification
Amount (max) $500
Rates or Fees (max) 15% of amount
Term Limitations 7-30 days
General Loan Terms

Kansas regulations mention nothing about rollovers. Nothing is mentioned about cooling periods between loans. Kansas has no requirements for extended repayment plans.

For example, in Kansas the rates and fees on a 14 day, $100 loan are:

Terms Amount
Loan Amount $100
Fees $15
APR 390%
Sample Loan Terms

Kansas also defines regulations around collections. If available, the table below lists the fees lenders are permitted to charge if the loan is not repaid and/or whether a lender can threaten use of or use criminal action if a borrower is unable to repay a loan.

Feature Specification
Collection Fees One NSF fee
Criminal Action Prohibited
Regulations on Collections
Finally, a more detailed excerpt from Kansas's statutes on finance charges is listed below. In general the tables above summarize this.

A licensed or supervised lender may charge an amount not to exceed 15 percent of the amount of the cash advance. The contract rate of any loan made under this section shall not be more than three percent per month of the loan proceeds after the maturity date. No insurance charges or any other charges of any nature whatsoever shall be permitted, except returned check fees, including any charges for cashing the loan proceeds if they are given in check form.

Citation: Kan. Stat. Ann. Section 1 and 16a-2-404.