Missouri Payday Loan Laws
Payday Hound's Top Missouri Lenders
Check Into Cash
The Payday Hound Rating
- Direct lender online or at stores.
- Founding member of CFSA. Live chat.
- TN based. State Licensed. Since 1993.
The Payday Hound Rating
- Discounts for repeat customers. Live chat.
- B BBB rating. All credit types but does check credit.
- State Licensed. Based in UT. Since 2005.
Missouri Payday Loan Laws Details
The data provided here is for general informational purposes and should not be used as legal reference. If you have questions regarding Missouri payday loan laws contact the Missouri Division of Finance.
Payday loans are legal in Missouri
(see Missouri Payday Loans or Missouri Installment Loans to compare fees and requirements for individual lenders).
|Rates or Fees (max)
||Not Specified (No borrower shall be required to pay a total amount of accumulated interest and fees in excess of 75% of the initial loan amount on any single authorized loan for the entire loan term and all authorized renewals. Otherwise, interest is set pursuant to small loan law which provides that parties may set rate by contract.)
General Loan Terms
In Missouri, six rollovers are permitted (borrower must reduce principal amount of loan by 5% or more upon each renewal).
Nothing is mentioned about cooling periods between loans.
Missouri has no requirements for extended repayment plans.
For example, in Missouri the rates and fees on a 14 day, $100 loan are:
Sample Loan Terms
Missouri also defines regulations around collections. If available, the table below lists the fees lenders are permitted to charge if the loan is not repaid and/or whether a lender can threaten use of or use criminal action if a borrower is unable to repay a loan.
||NSF fee; Collection costs (including court costs and reasonable
attorney's fees) Licensee cannot use a series of ACH transactions to
collect a single check.
Regulations on Collections
||Prohibited (Unless check returned due to closed account or stop-payment by maker)
Finally, a more detailed excerpt from Missouri's statutes on finance charges is listed below. In general the tables above summarize this.
Any person, firm, or corporation may charge, contract for and receive interest on the unpaid principal balance at rates agreed to by the parties. No borrower shall be required to pay a total amount of accumulated interest and fees in excess of 75 percent of the initial loan amount on any single loan.
Citation: Mo. Rev. Stat. Sections 408.500 et seq.