Regulator Details

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

Dvision of Banking
1601 N. Harrison Avenue, Suite 1
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-3421

South Dakota Payday Loan Laws

Payday Hound's Top South Dakota Lenders

Cash Central

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Discounts for repeat customers. Live chat.
  • B BBB rating. All credit types but does check credit.
  • State Licensed. Based in UT. Since 2005.

Ace Cash Express

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Large established lender. A+ BBB Score.
  • Multiple loan options. Physical store fronts.
  • State Licensed. Based in TX. Since 1968.

South Dakota Payday Loan Laws Details

The data provided here is for general informational purposes and should not be used as legal reference. If you have questions regarding South Dakota payday loan laws contact the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation.

Payday loans are legal in South Dakota (see South Dakota Payday Loans or South Dakota Installment Loans to compare fees and requirements for individual lenders).

Feature Specification
Amount (max) $500
Rates or Fees (max) ?
Term Limitations ?
General Loan Terms

South Dakota regulations mention nothing about rollovers. Nothing is mentioned about cooling periods between loans. South Dakota has no requirements for extended repayment plans.

For example, in South Dakota the rates and fees on a 14 day, $100 loan are:

Terms Amount
Loan Amount $100
Fees ?
Sample Loan Terms
Finally, a more detailed excerpt from South Dakota's statutes on finance charges is listed below. In general the tables above summarize this.

A licensee may charge a fee to defray operational costs, including, but not limited to, investigating the checking account and copying required documents, photographing the person signing the check, securing the check and customer records in a safe, fire-proof place, maintaining records as required by this chapter, maintaining required capital and liquidity, processing, documenting and closing the transaction, and for other expenses and losses. The fee authorized by this subsection (b) shall not exceed 15 percent of the face amount of the check. The fee, when made and collected, shall not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.

Citation: 54-4-36 et seq.