Regulator Details

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions

201 W Washington Ave 
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 261-9555

Wisconsin Payday Loan Laws

Payday Hound's Top Wisconsin Lenders

Check Into Cash

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Direct lender online or at stores.
  • Founding member of CFSA. Live chat.
  • TN based. State Licensed. Since 1993.

Cash Central

5 Rating
The Payday Hound Rating
  • Discounts for repeat customers. Live chat.
  • B BBB rating. Bad credit okay but does check credit.
  • State Licensed. Based in UT. Since 2005.

Wisconsin Payday Loan Laws Details

The data provided here is for general informational purposes and should not be used as legal reference. If you have questions regarding Wisconsin payday loan laws contact the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.

Payday loans are legal in Wisconsin (see Wisconsin Payday Loans or Wisconsin Installment Loans to compare fees and requirements for individual lenders).

Feature Specification
Amount (max) Lesser of $1,500 including fees or 35% gross monthly income
Rates or Fees (max) No Limit
Term Limitations 90 days or less
General Loan Terms

Wisconsin regulations mention nothing about rollovers. Nothing is mentioned about cooling periods between loans. Wisconsin has no requirements for extended repayment plans.

For example, in Wisconsin the rates and fees on a 14 day, $100 loan are:

Terms Amount
Loan Amount $100
Fees No Limit
APR No Limit
Sample Loan Terms
Finally, a more detailed excerpt from Wisconsin's statutes on finance charges is listed below. In general the tables above summarize this.

No post-dated check finance charge shall exceed the greater of $30 or 20 percent per month on the principal balance of the post-dated check or similar arrangement.

Citation: Wis. Stat. 138.14 and 2011 Act 32.